To Dye For!

Good Morning All!

Summer seems like it went by way too fast and Autumn is quickly upon us. I for one, am looking forward to the cooler, crisp weather and rich vibrant colors. Trees all fashioned in grand and glorious hues. Trees covered in their own unique splendid gowns before being left bare and naked against the cold blankness of Winter.  

Many women I know seem to take their cues from the trees and change their wardrobe and even their hair color to match. If you want to color your hair naturally, I recommend using henna. Henna will only yield a reddish or auburn tint. Add a teaspoon or two of fresh squeezed lemon juice to the henna paste. Leave in your hair for about 20 to 30 minutes and rinse thoroughly. 

Be wary of henna products that promise other tints or hues than reddish or auburn. They are not genuine henna products and have most likely been modified with metallic salts which coat and damage your hair and can yield a color such as green! Yuck! So be careful when choosing an all natural hair dye.

Want to just lighten your own hair color or bring out your natural highlights? Use straight lemon juice or dilute it with one part distilled water to three parts juice, leave in clean damp hair for 20 to 30 minutes depending on the length of your hair and desired intensity of lightness or highlights.

Want to lighten slowly over time so it’s less noticeable? Put 3 parts lemon juice to 1 part distilled water in a spray bottle, and spritz onto dry hair in the mornings. The sun will help activate the lemon juice. Your results can take a few days or even weeks, so be patient and consistent. Your lighter shade should remain until hair starts growing and roots are visible.

So with the crispness of Autumn upon us, I think I may try a hair trick or two. I do not dye my hair (I used to) and so far (no grays knock on wood) Oh which reminds me!

If you do have gray hair, it is much tougher to dye due to the fact that it has no natural melanin. It takes a lot of hair dye to make color look natural and the dye does not adhere to gray shafts as well. 

A small amount of pure coconut oil massaged into your gray hair can make it more silvery and manageable. So I say embrace the gray! Turn it to shimmery silver instead! 🙂

Well…whatever you choose, please research your products well and of course try to stick with the most natural alternative.

That’s all I have for now and it’s gotten a bit chilly here. Autumn is certainly nipping at the heels of Summer to chase it away quickly! I’m going to go and make myself a cup of chai tea, have some flax waffles and then get on with my beautiful day! 🙂

I Hope You Have a Beautiful Day Too! All The Best To You!!!

~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Eco-Chic Beauty, Hair, My Eco-Chic Boutique Beauty Tip Of The Day, Natural Beauty Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

