Dinner With Starshine

Good Morning All! 

Grandmom Starshine and Bekah

Yesterday we had a visit from my mom (Starshine). She is helping to care for her sister, my Aunt Joanne, who is suffering from Lupus. Aunt Joanne was recently in the hospital again and my mom drove down to take her home after being discharged and visit with her for a while. My mom lives about an hour away in New Jersey and drives here more and more often to help Aunt Joanne with her numerous doctor’s appointments and admissions to the hospital.  

My mom is a very kind, caring and compassionate person. She has Cancer – she is in remission now but, still has the tell-tale port sticking up in her chest and tube in her neck that you can make out when she turns her head a certain way.  

Reminders to me that the battle is not over. I am very grateful to still have her here. I am equally grateful that she has wonderful doctors who love and care for her like family. She calls her Oncologist Dr. Angel and he is. 🙂   

My family and I are eating more and more healthy these days to feel better, live healthier lives and have more energy. It seems though that most times no matter what you do to live a healthy life, illness still finds you. Cancer, Lupus..whatever it is if “it” has your name in its bag of tricks, it’ll find you.  

At one of her very first appointments after discovering that she had cervical cancer, she said to the doctor, “You know, if you eat 5 or 6 almonds every day, you’ll never have Cancer?” To which the doctor quickly replied, “So what happened with you? You miss a day?” This was a shock to her system. A truth revealed. Bluntly and truthfully. Afterall, she was here because she had Cancer so her statement did not hold water.  

I know a few people with Cancer right now who are running in all directions, trying this and that natural and herbal and “new” Cancer preventing thing. I am here to tell you that no amount of what you do can stave off Cancer. Don’t believe the hype. I do not mean for this to be a “downer” article and you’ll see my intention for writing this soon so please keep reading… OK? Thanks…   

My good friend’s father was as healthy as you could get. He did not even take medications. Not even an aspirin! He ate only all natural, organic foods, jogged, worked out and was happy in his life. When he was diagnosed with Cancer, he sought out natural remedies and even travelled to Germany and Mexico to try new treatments. He waited too long and ended up doing the chemo/radiation treatments and in the end even his über healthy life-style could not save him.  

Do not get me wrong, I am not knocking a natural and healthy life-style. I endorse that completely and as stated above, I and my family are eating more healthily and taking better care of ourselves. Being a good steward with what you have been given is the right thing to do.   

Cancer Cell

My point is to not get hooked into thinking that if you only do this natural thing or that, you’ll stave off, help cure the Cancer. The truth is that no one knows exactly what triggers X type of Cancer(s) in X individual. So please listen to your doctor’s advice or if you have questions that are not being answered to your satisfaction by your current physician then by all means seek a second opinion.  

I am glad that the doc told Starshine bluntly, “So what happened with you? You miss a day?” THAT singular statement woke her up and got her to pay attention to the experts instead of relying on her own knowledge or remedies.   

I am grateful that she is here and after 3 bouts with 3 types of cancer, she is doing well but, in their wisdom the Oncologists have not taken out that port… I know what that means and so does she.  

Love Life!

So with all of this being said, here is my message. Take the best care of you that you can. Live hard, love deeply and truly. Listen to your body. Cherish everything and everyone in your life, don’t sweat the small stuff and don’t believe the hype.  

If you suspect that you may have a serious illness such as Cancer, make an appointment immediately. Do not delay. Time is critical when dealing with Cancer.  

To those who have lost loved ones to Cancer, I am truly sorry. My heart goes out to you.  

I have lost a few people who I love as well. I miss you very much Joe, Phyllis, Catherine and Jack.  

I Hope You Have A Truly Beautiful Day!   

All The Best to You!!  

~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Eco-Chic Beauty, Natural Beauty Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner With Starshine

  1. Steve says:

    This is a great article. Being someone who knows quite a bit about physiology. I spent 10 years as an Aerospace Physiology Technician what Patti writes in this article is very true. You can not prevent Cancer or any other disease 100%. Yet that does not mean to neglect your body. The healthier the life style you have the better the quality of your life will be! Thanks Patti for being so honest and forthcoming with this all.

  2. Thanks very much for your comment!

  3. wow…Patti..so glad your mom is doing better inspite of what shes gone thru..you are very lucky to have her in your life..my mom is 77years old and I havent had a relationship with her since I wasd 19 years old…I try to keepin touch with her and just received a note from her in the mail saying she is fine and to send more pictures of the grandkids…she doesnt know any of them and I’m sorry for that..I have mother issues even at my age of 57. God Bless you and your mom and I hope your mom and your Aunt Joanne get better together and live another 40 years…love you and your writings…brenda aka granny7x

    • Brenda,
      Thank you so very much for your kind comments!
      I hope and pray that you can have a closer relationship with your mother. I am glad that she sent a note wanting more pics of the grandkids. That’s a positive step for sure 🙂

      All The Best To You!!!
      Thanks so very much for reading my lil’ blog 🙂
      Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

Leave a Reply

