Go Fast Or Not…

Good Morning All!

I’m sitting here, up way too early, no coffee and have to go get massive blood drawn today. For this appointment I have to fast. My tummy is saying just a tid-bit, please, coffffffeeeeeeee something…anything… now please!!!

Blood Draw Vials

So, I’m ignoring my tummy and am writing and keeping my mind busy trying to ignore the beautiful aroma of fresh ground freshly brewed coffee and the sight of my hubby drinking the much-loved coffee and eating fried eggs and sweet potato pancakes a few feet away… *sigh* but, I must do what I must do for my health. So I will be strong and continue to fast, have my blood drawn then drink the biggest cup of coffee on the planet and have a large bowl of fruit and some nice flax waffles…YUM!  

I am sooo hungry! (did I say that already?). I’m only fasting for 12 hours! I don’t know how people fast for days or even a week for health or religious reasons! I think I’d have to convert. 🙂

Many people fast to cleanse and detox their bodies and only drink water or water with lemon juice etc… So while I am in this state, I figured I’d do a little reading on this fasting to detox thing. Here’s what I came up with. These are excerpts from WedMD

Can Fasting Detoxify the Body? Some fasting diets claim that they can cleanse the body of impurities. However, there is no evidence that fasting detoxifies your body, or that your body even needs to be detoxified. It is naturally designed to remove toxins through the skin (by sweating), liver, colon, and kidneys.

Could Fasting Help You Live Longer? Studies of fasting in both rodents and humans appear to indicate a connection between calorie restriction and longevity. In one study of overweight men and women, a calorie-restricted diet improved markers of aging, such as insulin level and body temperature. Fasting might also improve longevity Researchers do not yet know whether the effects of fasting translate into an actual increase in lifespan, because they have not followed people for long enough periods of time.

Is Fasting Safe? Fasting for a day or two probably won’t hurt people who are generally healthy, provided they maintain an adequate fluid intake. However, fasting entirely for long periods of time can be harmful. Your body needs a variety of vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients from food to stay healthy. Not getting enough of these nutrients during fasting diets can lead to symptoms such as fatigue, dizziness, constipation, dehydration, gallstones, and cold intolerance.

It is possible to die if you fast too long. <( OK common sense here – yes I could see that) sheesh!

CAUTION: Even short-term fasting is not recommended for people with diabetes, because it can lead to dangerous dips and spikes in blood sugar. Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding, or anyone with a chronic disease, should not fast. 

Before you go on any type of new diet, particularly one that involves fasting, talk to your doctor to find out whether it is safe and appropriate for you. Also ask your doctor to refer you to a registered dietitian, who can show you how to design a healthy eating plan.

Well I found this very interesting I hope that you did as well! For more information of the pros and cons and cautions of fasting, you can read the full article here.

Well that’s all I have for now – I have to go and get ready for my appointment. I can’t wait to just get it over with so I can come home and have a nice cup of coffee and maybe a piece of cake as big as my head! LOL!

Thanks so much for reading again today!

Hope You Have a Beautiful Day &

All The Best To You!!!

~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Eco-Chic Beauty, Natural Beauty Products, Skin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

