Ugh.. Again?

Good Morning All!

I just read a funny and sort of sad series of comments from a friend on Facebook. It seems that she was working out in a gym and some guy struck up a conversation (of course). He wanted her to try this “natural” self-tanning cream. It was a well-known brand name so he assumed that it was “true” that this stuff was natural as advertised. He also threw around the word “biodegradable”….

*Smacks forehead* Just for those of you who may be wondering, no self-tanning product is natural. Umm.. other than massive doses of vitamin A which will turn your skin a queer kind of Oompa Loompa orange but not tan.

It just so happens that I recently blogged about how people assume things are natural just because the label says so…you can read that article here.

The assumption that products are natural or all natural just because the label says so drives me crazy! I feel that people who push these products to market need to be much more responsible and truthful in the labeling of their products for sale.

I think that they should be held accountable for misinforming and misleading people into thinking that product is natural when it is not natural and even worse may contain harmful chemicals.

Unfortunately, there are currently no real “laws” surrounding the labeling of natural products. So I say to you, buyer beware! Read the ingredients on those labels. What you put on your body is just as important as what goes into your body.

Topical creams, oils and lotions etc…are absorbed through your pores and thus make their way INTO your body anyway. So just be more discerning and diligent when it comes to all natural and organic claims.

People like Mr. Annoying Gym Guy are the norm. So you be the exception. Arm yourself with knowledge of what is truly natural and what is not. 

Afterall, like I LOVE to say, you’re the only one of you that you’ve got! So take great care of you! Here is a helpful list of  ingredients to steer clear of when choosing your health and beauty products.

 A product claiming to be natural should never contain the following ingredients:

  • Sulfates (Sodium Lauryl/Laureth Sulfate)
  • Parabens (Methyl-, Propyl-, Ethyl-, Butyl-)
  • Petrochemicals (petrolatum, mineral oil, paraffin)
  • Chemical Sunscreens (Oxybenzone/Avobenzone)
  • Phthalates.

Remember, knowledge is power! I hope that you enjoyed today’s article.

Thanks so much to Debbie for the inspiration for today’s blog! x0x0x0

Have a Beautiful Day! & All The Very Best To You!!!

~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Eco-Chic Beauty, Hair, My Eco-Chic Boutique Beauty Tip Of The Day, Natural Beauty Products, Skin, Skin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ugh.. Again?

  1. Debbie says:

    Thanks for responding to my wacky story! I hope people will understand that just because something claims to be natural doesn’t mean it really is. It could have SOME natural ingredients, but then a whole bunch of chemicals.

    And for the record, I did NOT try the cream. I told him I will not cover my body in chemicals. I am not in the sun very often. I’m a little tan. I know my body was designed to handle natural sunlight in appropriate doses. I don’t need to cover myself in chemicals to get a look I can get in a healthy and natural way. I was never a beach bunny, and I don’t make time to lay around the pool now. Chemicals are just not the way to go!

    • You’re very welcome! You are so right when you say that our bodies were designed to handle a certain amount of sunlight and chemicals are not the way to go! Thank you so much for your comment and again thanks so much for being the inspiration for today’s article!

  2. brenda says:

    I wish more people would see this..with everyone wanting the “Hollywood ” look and all the tainning going on a lot of folks would go for this…keep getting the word out Patti…great job….

  3. Teresa Bebla says:

    You forgot fragrance…

    Love the blog! A woman after my own heart. I always see huge companies being praised for green standards, but when you go to read the label the ingredients are most certainly NOT healthy or green. “Saving the planet on bar at a time” with ingredients like propylene Glycol and Sulfates…

    It is irritating…

  4. Teresa, Thanks so much for your comment! yes indeed. I did blog about fragrances here >> https://theecochicboutique.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/fall-in-love/
    It’s saddening to see the “Emperor’s New Clothes” sort of mentality when it comes to better known/brand name companies that claim eco-green or natural products and they are anything but..
    Thanks so much again for your comment!
    Have a beautiful day!
    ~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

  5. Pingback: Please Re-Read… | THE Eco-Chic Boutique

  6. weight says:

    yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

