Liquid vs. Solid

Hey All,

I am undertaking an experiment. I formulated a great liquid soap yesterday and am comparing its longevity to its bar soap counter part. They are the same amount in ounces.

I will update you via a detailed blog article once the experiment is complete.  🙂

In the meantime, if you would like to formulate a liquid soap on your own, here is a great recipe! It’s the one I used for my liquid soap creation.

Liquid Hand Soap 

You’ll Need…

1 bar of soap (6 oz)
1 Tbsp. honey
1 tsp glycerin
water

The How To…

  • Use a cheese grater and grate the bar soap completely, then pour into a blender.
  • Add 1 cup boiling water and whip on high-speed until the shredded soap is melted.
  • Add 1/2 cup luke warm water and stir in blender – do not whip at this point.
  • Add the honey and glycerin, give a good stir.
  • Allow this mixture to cool (about 15 – 20 minutes) then whip again.
  • The Mixture should be 2 cups at this point. (Yes there is foam but it should measure only about 2 cups actual soap)
  • Top with cold water until the mixture measures 5 cups, whip.
  • Pour into containers with pumps and allow to cool (do not put lids or caps on yet).
  • After about 1 hour, close containers and shake.

The Soap mixture will thicken up as it sits to cool completely. You may add coloring and some essential oils if desired before pouring into containers..

I will conduct the experiment using the bar soap and liquid soaps as hand soap only to start. I will document my findings and post here at the conclusion of my experiment.

Why? You want to know why I would bother with this experiment? Oh good question!

Well, I am often asked what lasts longer? bar soap or a liquid soap. I do not have an honest answer so I am going to document # of washes, pumps, days etc.. vs. washing with a bar soap. I want to truly find out which lasts longer. I also hope to find  a better bargain / alternative for my customers interested in purchasing my soaps for hand soap not just bath/shower soap.

See now? I hope that made sense. 🙂

If you do try the recipe above, please let me know how it worked for you. As always, thanks so much for reading!

Have a Beautiful Day & All The Best To You!!!

~Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Advice, Eco-Chic Beauty, My Eco-Chic Boutique Beauty Tip Of The Day, Natural Beauty Products, Skin, Skin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liquid vs. Solid

Leave a Reply

