What Is Important

Hey All,

Sorry for not blogging these last few days but, I have been VERY busy you’ll find out why later– keep reading — :).

Hope you all had a super Christmas! I know we did. If you are a regular reader, you will know that I started a holiday help series of 10 articles with super easy and inexpensive gift ideas and recipes to make as Christmas presents. 

This idea was borne out of necessity as our car chose to act cranky just before Christmas and we had to put out $1,200.00 to fix it.

Yep you guessed it, this put a HUGE dent in our plans. Nonetheless, we forged ahead, not letting things get us down.

The hubby and I bought a few very good gifts for our girls. We also knew that my mom always goes crazy this time of year so we thought well… all is well. Besides all of that, we focus on the true meaning of the season and why we celebrate what we celebrate. That is very important to us.

It’s Christmas eve (early in the evening) and we’re expecting my mom to drive here and stay over a few days. Hubby and I are making plans to wrap our few gifts and put them under the tree when my phone rings and it’s my mother.

She sounds out of breath and shaky. She explains that she has just been in a car accident. It was a pretty bad one. Her car is most likely totalled.

Someone ran a stop sign and she had no choice but to hit him. She was going the speed limit on impact. The air bag deployed giving her a few burns, and hurt wrist and forearm – it may be broken as it is swelling at a rapid rate. She is in shock and does not feel the pain yet.

There are loud voices in the background. My mind is reeling with what? am I hearing this correctly? She keeps saying she thinks that she is OK and that she is so sorry for this and not making it down for Christmas.

I tell her to quit apologizing and we have the typical conversation of glad you’re OK, call the police, get his insurance info etc.. we hang up and she calls back awhile later from an ambulance. A very helpful police officer is insisting that she go to the hospital to get checked out.

In one instant, our priorities shifted and we forgot all about gifts. Well, at least the kind you buy in the store and even ones you make yourself. Our focus became the gift that my mom was safe and that although delayed, we would be celebrating another Christmas together.

Grandmom Starshine & Bekah

After being released from the hospital with a sprained wrist and giant hematoma on her forearm, wrist and hand, my mom called a friend to pick her up from the hospital and actually made it to midnight mass that same evening!  (God bless her she’s such a trooper).

My hubby picked her up the next afternoon, Christmas day, and surveyed the scene of the accident. They had to stop by her car and retrieve the presents she was bringing anyway. My husband said that the accident looked worse than the result and that the car is indeed totalled. I am so thankful that she is still here with us and we will take her home after the new year.

She is recovering at our place and being pampered while she is here. God provided for everything we needed, some of what we wanted and all of what we love.

I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas! Cherish one another each and every day. Don’t sweat the small stuff and live with integrity and passion.

P.S. This blog will return to it’s regularly scheduled content tomorrow 🙂

All The Best To You!!!

~ Patti (Yeshuazgirl)

About THE Eco-Chic Boutique

* Everyday Is A Gift!~Unwrap Like You MEAN IT!!! * This is my own personal made-up motto & I try like the dickens to live by this daily! * I'm grateful for every day,everything & everyone in it * It's my passion to bring all of you beauties wholesome, eco-friendly, aromatherapy & spa quality bath & body products! * It's my true belief that we are all meant to be natural beauties! * Without harmful chemicals and additives. * I promise to post helpful information about health & beauty * Share my knowlegde of healing and beneficial natural botanicals and other products / ingredients * I will provide informative articles on all things that are oh so good for you & your health! * I have recently launched my own all natural and organic health & beauty product line! * All The Very Best To You!!! * Patti (Yeshuazgirl) Shop THE Eco-Chic Boutique Online @ http://www.addoway.com/theecochicboutique/storefront/ http://www.etsy.com/shop/theecochicboutique
This entry was posted in Advice, Eco-Chic Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

